The 2020 Zena Sutherland Awards go to...

The Zena Sutherland Awards for Children’s Literature have been given yearly since 1995. The awards began when art teacher Philip Matsikas, former librarian Donna Schatt, and former computer teacher Karen Putman responded to student dissatisfaction with the picture-book awards judged by adults. The awards allow Lower School and Middle School students to become critics in the spirit of Ms. Zena Sutherland.

This year, after reviewing 18 books, spending weeks reading, discussing, and voting, students comprising the Sutherland Awards committee were please to announce the following 2020 winners at this morning's Zena Sutherland Awards assembly

In the Best Text category, the award goes to
The Roots of Rap: 16 Bars on the 4 Pillars of Hip-Hop By Carol Boston Weatherford, with art by Frank Morrison. 

In the Best Illustration category, the award goes to 
Field Trip to the Moon by John Hare.

 In the Best Overall category, the award goes to 
A Normal Pig by K-Fai Steele.

Congratulations to all of this year's winners of the Zena Sutherland Award for Excellence in Children's Literature!

View the awards assembly here.


  • Homepage Featured News
  • Lab News