Lab = Life

Learning by doing has guided the efforts of the University of Chicago Laboratory Schools since Professor John Dewey first began testing his educational theories in 1896. Beginning with a handful of children and growing to over 1770 students Lab has earned a well-deserved international reputation for excellence. More

Lab News

  • FullSizeRender.jpg

    Gordon Parks Arts Hall

    Posted Sep 29 2015

    The construction fence is gone and the lilacs are back!

    Continue Reading
  • ghez.jpg

    MacArthur ”genius” Labbies

    Posted Sep 29 2015

    Astrophysicist and MacArthur “genius” Andrea Ghez is quoted in the NYT on, How MacArthur Geniuses Handle Their Money Windfalls. She is one of four people associated with Lab who have won this prestigious award. She is joined by former teacher Vivian Paley who won in 1986 and two (yes two) members of the class of 1969: musician George E. Lewis won in 2002 and and geriatrician Dr. Diane Meier won the same year as Ms. Ghez, 2008.

    Continue Reading
  • UChicagoLabSchoolstudentsWhitneyThomasandDelnazPatelatMBL2015CreditBethSimmons.jpg

    U-Highers study at Marine Biological Laboratory in Woods Hole, MA

    Posted Sep 17 2015

    As part of the University of Chicago’s expanding partnership with Marine Biological Laboratory in Woods Hole, a dozen U-Highers, accompanied by Lab science teachers and staff, spent a week getting their hands wet.

    Continue Reading
  • _DSC4422.jpeg

    Studying the vocabulary of the environment

    Posted Sep 17 2015

    Last spring High School Spanish students wrote sentences and found images that related to their hopes and fears about pollution or possible ways of helping the environment. They collaged them into profile images of themselves to reflect the very personal nature of their expressions.

    Continue Reading
  • DSC_6186.JPG

    Lab is now accepting applications for the 2016-17 academic year

    Posted Aug 25 2015

    Our goal is to support your effort to find a school that fits your child’s and family’s needs. Like many independent schools, Lab’s admission process, and especially the number of available openings, varies by grade level, and from year to year. Learn more about Lab’s admission process on our website.

    Continue Reading

Upcoming Calendar

Monday, November 30

MS Winter Rotation Classes Begin

Thursday, December 3

Lab E-News Today

MS Principal Chat

N 106 (Middle School Drama Room) 8:00am - 9:00am

What's the "How" in "How to Raise an Adult"?

ESH 310 8:45am - 10:00am

MS Principal Chat

N 106 (Middle School Drama Room) 6:00pm - 7:00pm

8th Grade Band/Orchestra/Choir Concert

Mandel Hall (1131 E 57th Street, University of Chicago campus) 7:30pm - 9:00pm
Saturday, December 5

HS SAT Testing

Monday, December 7


Thru 12/14/2015

Grade 4 ERB testing

Blaine classrooms 8:30am Thru 12/9/2015

Parents' Association Meeting

Earl Shapiro Hall Lobby 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Tuesday, December 8

MS Chamber Music Concert

Gordon Parks Hall
Wednesday, December 9

8th Grade and HS Parents: College Financial Aid

Gordon Parks Assembly Hall 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Thursday, December 10

Grade 3 ERB testing

Blaine classrooms 8:30am Thru 12/11/2015
Saturday, December 12

HS ACT Testing