2014-2015 Award Winners

Abraham Lincoln Illinois High School Book Award

  • Rowell, Rainbow. Eleanor & Park

Alex Awards

  • Doerr, Anthony. All the Light We Cannot See
  • Racculia, Kate. Bellweather Rhapsody
  • Levine, James A. Bingo’s Run
  • Minato, Kanae. Confessions
  • Ng, Celeste. Everything I Never Told You
  • Scalzi, John. Lock In
  • Weir, Andy. The Martian
  • Ebrahim, Zak and Giles, Jeff. The Terrorist’s Son: A Story of Choice
  • Kortya, Michael. Those Who Wish Me Dead
  • Darnielle, John. Wolf in White Van

Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction

  • Smith, Ali. How to be Both

Edgar Allan Poe Award for Mystery

  • King, Stephen. Mr. Mercedes (Best Novel)
  • Bouman, Tom. Dry Bones in the Valley (Best First Novel)
  • Abani, Chris. The Secret History of Las Vegas (Best Paperback Original)
  • Mann, William. Tinseltown: Murder, Morphine, and Madness at the Dawn of Hollywood (Best Fact Crime)
  • Ocker, J.W. Poe-Land: The Hallowed Haunts of Edgar Allan Poe (Best Critical/Biographical)
  • Klise, James. The Art of Secrets (Best Young Adult)

Hugo Award for Science Fiction or Fantasy

  • Leckie, Ann. Ancillary Justice

Man Booker Prize

  • Flanagan, Richard. The Narrow Road to the Deep North

National Book Award

  • Klay, PHil. Redeployment (Fiction)
  • Osnos, Evan. Age of Ambition: Chasing Fortune, Truth, and Faith in the New China (Non-Fiction)
  • Glück, Louise. Faithful and Virtuous Night (Poetry)
  • Woodson, Jacqueline. Brown Girl Dreaming (Young People’s Literature)

Nebula Award for Science Fiction or Fantasy Novel

  • VanderMer, Jeff. Annihilation (Winner)
  • Addison, Katherine. The Goblin Emperor (Nominee)
  • Gannon, Charles E. Trial by Fire (Nominee)
  • Leckie, Ann. Ancillary Sword (Nominee)
  • Liu, Cixin. The Three-Body Problem (Nominee)
  • McDevitt, Jack. Coming Home (Nominee)

Michael L. Printz Award for Young Adult Literature

  • Nelson, Jandy. I’ll Give You the Sun (Winner)
  • Hubbard, Jenny. And We Stay (Honor)
  • Foley, Jessie Ann. The Carnival at Bray (Honor)
  • Smith, Andrew. Grasshopper Jungle (Honor)
  • Tamaki, Mariko and Tamaki, Jillian. This One Summer (Honor)

Pulitzer Prize

  • Doerr, Anthony. All the Light We Cannot See (Fiction Winner)
  • Ford, Richard. Let Me Be Frank with You (Fiction Finalist)
  • Lalami, Laila. The Moor’s Account (Fiction Finalist)
  • Oates, Joyce Carol. Lovely, Dark, Deep (Fiction Finalist)
  • Kolbert, Elizabeth. The Sixth Extinction: An Unnatural History (Non-Fiction Winner)
  • Guirgis, Stephen Adly. Between Riverside and Crazy (Drama Winner)
  • Pardlo, Gregory. Digest (Poetry Winner)

YALSA Top Ten Best Fiction for Young Adults 2014

  • Foley, Jessie Ann. The Carnival at Bray
  • Alexander, Kwame. The Crossover
  • Kiely, Brendan. The Gospel of Winter
  • Nelson, Jandy. I’ll Give You the Sun
  • Ritter, William. Jackaby
  • Whaley, John Corey. Noggin
  • Johnston, E.K. The Story of Owen: Dragon Slayer of Trondheim
  • De Fombelle, Timothee. Vango
  • Lockhart, E. We Were Liars
  • Lu, Marie. The Young Elites